Community
Fusion Support
Report issues, bugs, and or unexpected behaviors you’re seeing. Share Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) issues here and get support from the community as well as the Fusion team.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Configured Design -> The first Configuration cannot be deleted

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Reply
Message 1 of 8
Christoph_360
206 Views, 7 Replies

Configured Design -> The first Configuration cannot be deleted

Hello

 

 

Thanks

Christoph

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8

Once you create or change a model to a Configuration, it cannot be returned to a "normal" model, if that is a way of referring to it.  To do this, create and save a new model.  Insert the desired configuration, you want to start with, into it and then choose Break the Link in the Browser.  This will give you a working model of the configuration you chose without a configuration table.

 

Extraction a Configured Design.gif


"If you find my answer solved your question, please select the Accept Solution icon"

John Hackney
Retired

Beyond the Drafting Board


Message 3 of 8

That is intentional:

"Default Configuration: The first row represents the Default Configuration. It cannot be deleted."

https://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/?guid=CFG-CONFIGURATIONS 

Message 4 of 8

@jhackney1972 and @KristianLaholm are both correct. 

 

You can also use "save configuration as" from the browser tree to save the configuration as a new, standard design. 

 

Screenshot 2023-11-06 at 2.49.59 PM.png

 

Cheers,

Karina

 


Karina Harper

Software QA Engineer, Fusion 360

Fusion 360 Webinars | Contact Support | EDU Support | Support Board Best Practices


Message 5 of 8

Hello

 

Thank you for your reply.

 


@karina.harperwrote:

 

You can also use "save configuration as" from the browser tree to save the configuration as a new, standard design. 


The perfect solution to the question of how can I convert a Configured Design back into a Normal Design, a question I actually wanted to ask in the forum for a long time.

 

Thanks

Christoph

Message 6 of 8

Hello

 

Thank you for your reply.

 


@KristianLaholmwrote:

That is intentional:

"Default Configuration: The first row represents the Default Configuration. It cannot be deleted."

https://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/?guid=CFG-CONFIGURATIONS 


The correct explanation for the question asked in the title Configured Design -> The first Configuration cannot be deleted.

 

Thank you very much for this insight, now it is also clear to me why the first row cannot be sorted when sorting the rows alphabetically.

 

 

Thanks

Christoph

Message 7 of 8

Exactly @Christoph_360 -

 

The first Configuration aka the Default Configuration gets some special handling. It effectively *IS* the original design that you converted to a CD.

 

So:

  1. Standard Design A gets v1, v2, v3
  2. "Configure" is used in SD A
  3. Two other Configurations are added
  4. Design A is Saved
  5. SD A becomes the first configuration in CD
  6. CD is at v1
  7. SD A (Configuration 1) is at v4 (this can be seen if you insert the configuration into another design, for example)
  8. Configuration 2 and Configuration 3 are at v1.

Screenshot 2023-11-07 at 9.20.31 AM.png

Hope that makes sense.

 

So if you were to delete all configurations aside from Config 1, you would essentially have "SD A" back, though it would still be tagged as a Configured Design and would be subject to those limitations. We currently don't have the infrastructure to "convert" back aside from Save Configuration As or @jhackney1972's workaround.

 

Cheers,


Karina

 


Karina Harper

Software QA Engineer, Fusion 360

Fusion 360 Webinars | Contact Support | EDU Support | Support Board Best Practices


Message 8 of 8

Hello

 

Thank you for your reply.

 


@jhackney1972  wrote:

Once you create or change a model to a Configuration, it cannot be returned to a "normal" model, if that is a way of referring to it.  To do this, create and save a new model.  Insert the desired configuration, you want to start with, into it and then choose Break the Link in the Browser.  This will give you a working model of the configuration you chose without a configuration table.


A very good solution to the question of how can I convert a Configured Design back into a Normal Design, a question I actually wanted to ask in the forum for a long time.

 

Thanks

Christoph

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Post to forums  

Autodesk Design & Make Report