Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is fusion projecting an edge down below past its boundary when selected?

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
derinveron
332 Views, 14 Replies

Why is fusion projecting an edge down below past its boundary when selected?

Hello, I'm a beginner in Fusion and I'm trying to use it for it's CAM software. I modeled this piece in Rhino. I'm trying to select the bottom edges of these raindrop shapes as machining boundaries in order to run a parallel toolpath on them, and hollow them out. They are going to be pockets for a wood inlay. The bottom edge is offset 1/8" from the top edge. Fusion is doing this weird thing where it's projecting the edge down to the center of the stock instead of selecting exactly what I have in the model. I included screenshots to show the problem, as well as the file. I'm a beginner so any detailed explanations or solutions would be super helpful and appreciated!

Screen Shot 2021-03-01 at 7.13.24 PM.pngScreen Shot 2021-03-01 at 7.13.57 PM.png

Labels (1)
14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
mattdlr89
in reply to: derinveron

Can’t look at your file currently but I believe fusion is projecting your selection onto the XY plane as the tool is orientated.

if you are doing a parallel machining strategy there is an option under touch/avoid section (in geometry tab iirc) to select surfaces that you only want the tool to touch. This might be the better option for you. 

Message 3 of 15
derinveron
in reply to: mattdlr89

I actually happened to try that option out right before you replied, and it worked!! Could've saved so much time if i'd known that sooner. Do you happen to know what's causing fusion to project my selection onto the XY plane, or what could remedy that?