Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which finishing operation to use on pockets with steps

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
doncawley
239 Views, 9 Replies

Which finishing operation to use on pockets with steps

Hi,

I'm attempting to mill the attached design.  It contains almost exclusively pocket with steps ( like a staircase ).  I have used pocket clearing to safely remove the bottom floor of the pockets and do a rough pass.  I now need to add some finishing passes to bring the stock to the designed edges.  However, I'm at a loss as I can't seem to find any operation that properly mills the remaining stock.  I can get the horizontal surfaces correct but can't seem to find a process to mill the vertical walls.  

I am new to CAM so I'm confident I'm missing something obvious.  Am I really supposed to use 3d Adaptive clearing as the finishing operation?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
a.laasW8M6T
in reply to: doncawley

Hi

You would normally use 2D Contour to finish vertical walls

There is no Fusion file attached to your post so we can't have a look and offer more suggestions

You definitely do not want to use 3d adaptive as a finishing toolpath

Message 3 of 10
doncawley

The original image should describe it decently, but ive also attached the f3d file.  

The issue I am having is likely related to properly selecting the contours.  I cant seem to mill the vertical wall that is part of the "last" step.   Is this because there is no actual floor as this is a "hollow" pocket?

Message 4 of 10
a.laasW8M6T

You had the correct selection for the 2D contour but had rest machining on for some reason so it wasn't machining the whole contour.