Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trumpf 1030 Postprocessor JavaScript issue

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
bow.enoch
242 Views, 7 Replies

Trumpf 1030 Postprocessor JavaScript issue

Hey,

Can anyone help with the Trumpf postprocessor? I would like to add a variable to get the sheet metal thickness based on stock thickness. (see picture below). I'm new to JavaScript so I need a little help with this.

Screenshot 2023-12-06 210507.jpg

It's not showing any errors in the script but when I run 'Start Debugging' I get a popup saying 'failed to read properties'

Screenshot 2023-12-06 211357.jpg

If I save it like this anyway then the post disappears from my post list in Fusion 360.

Note: I think it has something to do with the equation because if I input the value manually it works like expected. But then I did copy/paste the equation from somewhere else(which was part of a writeBlock and it is working fine for that) so I'm not sure what the problem is.

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
matty.fuller
in reply to: bow.enoch

In the first line you assign a string to the variable, because it includes parentheses.

Then in the if statement you try to use it for a mathematical comparison to a float. In JavaScript variables have no type, but it won't be able to convert the string to a number because of the parentheses. I would remove those and see how you go.

Message 3 of 8
matty.fuller

To clarify, your first line should read like this:

var StockThickness = (Math.abs(getGlobalParameter("stock-upper-z") - getGlobalParameter("stock-lower-z")))