Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble defining engrave tool path on shape made with arcs

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
SHAWN8SXQJ
184 Views, 10 Replies

Trouble defining engrave tool path on shape made with arcs

Hi everyone, I'm new to F360 but a longtime Solid Works and Master Cam user. 

I'm trying to engrave my company logo on a piece of aluminum plate and having difficulty defining part of the cut path. The logo is a circle with some simple features and an Eagle in the middle. I traced a high res. JPEG I imported and initially scaled it small for an idea I had, and planned on scaling ip back up to 10" diameter for final production. 

When I define the lines for the engrave path, the eagle outline only selects small segments at a time instead of the whole chain, and doesn't recognize them as a valid path if I go through and manually select all segments. I've checked over the arcs I used to form the eagle and see no unconnected points or double lines. 

Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong?

I attached the file also.

Thank you in advance!

Shawn

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
seth.madore
in reply to: SHAWN8SXQJ

Are you looking to trace the outline of the eagle, or are you looking to actually do a "V-Carve" style toolpath to it?

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 11
SHAWN8SXQJ
in reply to: seth.madore

I was planning on using a 3/8" 60 degree inclusive engraving tool, the tip is .015" wide. I wanted to use that and go over all the lines, I've been trying the trace tool path but it still doesn't seem right. 

It sounds like I want to v-carve the outlines. 

Thank you!

Message 4 of 11
seth.madore