Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tool Z offset suddenly changes in the middle of CNC toolpath

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
micheloudeg
225 Views, 4 Replies

Tool Z offset suddenly changes in the middle of CNC toolpath

Good morning, I have been using Fusion 360 with a CNC machine for 4 years. I machine various materials almost everyday. Today twice the tool offset suddenly changed, resulting in the first case in the work being cut in half.This did not show during Simulation and I tried to simulate again after my work was broken and it did not show either. The offset just jumped on the machine.

Then afternoon, twice the Z offset increased by about 8mm, resulting in air milling. These are multiple setup parts that take half a day to mill with a stock that is not too cheap so it is highly inconvenient.

Looking at the G-code I can't find where the offset changes. Here in the attached file it suddenly changed around line N20000 but I could not find where exactly. The tools library both on the machine and on Fusion are exactly the same we've been using for years. Tool offset is set with a tool sensor on the machine. CNC is a german model from CNC STEP running their own sort of Mach called Kinetic NC. Up until last week everything was working great, I suspect some of the changes in the Fusion Post Processing introduces some invisible (to me!) offset.

Any help would be immensely appreciated!

Tags (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
a.laasW8M6T
in reply to: micheloudeg

Hey, there is nothing in the code that is going to give you an offset change, the problem more likely lies with your machine.

Looking at the type of machine it has stepper motors which can lose position in some circumstances if overloaded.