Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tool wear

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
BillGEGHV
204 Views, 4 Replies

Tool wear

Not necessarily a Fusion question but machining in general I hope to get some Insite on. 

I have many years of experience with CNC milling but am fairly new to metal work machining.  Im milling some pretty complex molds that are like 95% surface machining in 6061 T6 There are only a few flat faces in the cavity of the molds as well as the case lines. All my past experience was milling plastics, tooling board, sculpting wax etc. back in my toy industry career.  SO never had to manage or deal with tool wear.  I need to machine 40 mold 1/2s and there is a pretty long list of tooling, from 1/2 FL EM to 3/64 ball end mills all of which is carbide except 1 lollypop cutter that is a vanadium steel jewelers bur and even a couple carbide lollypop cutters for hitting some undercuts.  There are several drilling ops, that include drilling, undersized pre reaming end mills to final reaming ops to size. 

SO big question is will I even start to see any issues with tool wear with 40 molds? How do you approach and manage this? There is really only 1 feature in the mold cavity that I can realistically measure consistently, everything else is very organic in form.  

Should I measure the tools? Or will I even see any changes in the actual dimension of the tools? I assume a lot of issues with part accuracy come from tools losing their edge and not necessarily getting smaller in size???  OR do they???  

Molds are 3x4x1.5" part in the mold cavity is about 23/4 X 1.5 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
a.laasW8M6T
in reply to: BillGEGHV

I wouldn't worry too much about tool wear in 6061,