Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tool Diameter larger than pocket width - can I force it to create a tool path and cut it anyway?

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
toolcontrolreliability
372 Views, 13 Replies

Tool Diameter larger than pocket width - can I force it to create a tool path and cut it anyway?

Hi, 

Pretty new to Fusion 360, have used a lot of CAD before but not Manufactuing side (here I am a massive newbie).

I have a project where i want to cut the whole thing using a 1/8" diameter cutter, however, some pockets are smaller width than 1/8" and a tool path will not be created.

Is there any way to ignore that and force the program to create a tool path through that section anyway, Yes I understand that it is going to cut wider than the drawing. 

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14

Well, seeing as your model is taking ages to open, here are some general thoughts:
1) Yes, with 2D toolpaths, you can force a tool to violate the model. The trick is to use 2D Contour, and not 2D Pocket. Select a single edge to drive the toolpath (not both sides of the pocket)

2) If the difference in feature/tool size is very small, you can also "cheat" and define the tool slightly smaller.

Will offer up more thoughts when your file gets around to opening 🤔

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 14

Thanks Seth, I will give it a go, I have 30 imported DXF contours, maybe that could be the reason, its has been very slow for me too. 

Cheers Matt

Message 4 of 14

Ok, your file finally opened. For contours that you just can't get to work, Trace is another valuable tool, as long as you set your compensation direction properly:

2023-07-10_07h26_27.png

Seth Madore
Message 5 of 14