Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tenon joint - Horizontally

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
jonmcdermott
205 Views, 8 Replies

Tenon joint - Horizontally

Excuse my ignorance but i am very new to any CNC/CAM processes. I am trying to mill a Mortice and Tenon joint in Wood, the joint has a 'Fillet' on the corners ( 0.20 inch radius) - see below screenshot.

I have created the mortice with a simple pocket but am having trouble with the Tenon. I do not have clearance to mount the workpiece vertically so require a horizontal solution. Having played around with the software and simulations, i think the best solution will be to mill one side then flip and run the job again. Could someone suggest the best solution for actually milling this ? 

Many thanks in advance.

jonmcdermott_0-1693310313714.png

jonmcdermott_1-1693310402922.png

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
seth.madore
in reply to: jonmcdermott

Well, as you've designed it, you're going to have to make some accommodations, I'm thinking. Since endmills and router bits are cylindrical in nature, you're going to end up with radii at some point or another. Are you planning on taking a wood chisel to the remnants to finish off with square corners?

Do you have enough travel on your machine to allow you to hang the part off the edge of the table?

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 9
jonmcdermott

Hi, thanks for the assist.