Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Surface Trim Tool help (updated with new example)

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Will1337
255 Views, 6 Replies

Surface Trim Tool help (updated with new example)

EDIT - (Please see updated model and video in later post below)

To start off I have been using fusion 360 for 4 years but always desiging using the "solid" design tab.

I am trying to learn the surface design tab and nurbs/surface modeling. I have run into this problem and can not seem to figure out what is happening or how to correct it.

Please excuse the crude/unconstrained sketches in my modeling this was just created as a quick example of what I'm running into. I have purposely made wavy profiles, then extended them in order for the profiles to fully intersect.

I would like to Trim section C from the body AC using body B.

my process trim tool>select body B>select section C but this is where my problem is, it doesnt't turn red to be trimmed.

I just get a different selection of faces for some reason.

Please educate me as to what I am doing wrong, as I want to learn.

Tags (1)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
MarkusThuresson
in reply to: Will1337

For this you need to use the trim tool. First you select the surface you want to use as "trimming tool" then you select the surface you want removed and press ok.

MarkusThuresson_0-1674907548029.png

MarkusThuresson_2-1674907719816.png

MarkusThuresson_1-1674907702835.png

MarkusThuresson_3-1674907591641.png

Message 3 of 7
Will1337
in reply to: MarkusThuresson

that is the exact process I was trying to describe, all be it poorly.