Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Set up wont let cutting tool path be created

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
t_ray_g
239 Views, 8 Replies

Set up wont let cutting tool path be created

Need some help for a beginner here. When i go to manufacture for cutting, if i go into the set up tab to change start point a cutting tool path will not be created. If I stay out of the set up tab and only work in the cutting tab, the cutting tool path gets create but I cant change the start point. Screenshot 2023-07-24 165622.png

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Fritzinator
in reply to: t_ray_g

Are you talking about the origin of the setup or the start of the cut? You set the coordinate origin in the setup. you set the start of the cut in the cutting profile.

Message 3 of 9
t_ray_g

When i go into set up to change the start point it wont let  a cutting tool path happen but. I have to leave the start point alone and just go into the cutting tab to set up post.

Message 4 of 9
Fritzinator

I'm sorry but I feel like there is still a wording problem going on here. Unfortunately exact verbiage is necessary via text troubleshooting. Under the "setup" the only thing you can change is the origin of the coordinate system for the subsequent "2D Profiles" . Under the 2D profile tab/ option box under the sub tab "Linking" look for the "Preferred Lead-In Position".

Also make sure your tool geometry is smaller than the width of the thing being cut. if the tool is bigger than the slot or pocket to be cut, it will ignore that item and give a warning.  

I should declare now, I am only familiar with using 2D Cutting profiles for a plasma machine.

Message 5 of 9
HughesTooling