Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rookie Mistake?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Vintagetunes
385 Views, 9 Replies

Rookie Mistake?

Hi y'all!   I'm working on some large wall panels for a project at work, and I seem to have done something wrong, but I can't figure out exactly what it is.   I have the file setup to do a pocket for toolholder clearance, then a roughing pass, followed by a parallel finishing pass, and although it doesn't seem to show in simulation, either the roughing is too deep, or the finishing is too shallow.   I'm fairly new to ReSt machining in Fusion, so I'm wondering if I goofed it up there?

Thank y'all in advance for any tips!

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
seth.madore
in reply to: Vintagetunes

I'm having a bit of a mind bender trying to place your Fusion file in an arrangement that mimics your photo of the machined result 🤔

How are you restraining your part, is it on a vacuum table? The material appears to be a HDPE board of sorts, is that correct?

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 10
seth.madore

Looking at the Roughing, it appears that you've been leaving over .400" in some areas, due to the nature of your 3D Pocket toolpath:

2023-09-06_10h33_27.png

It's possible that the finishing toolpath objected to this much material and the tool deflected away (doubtful). Or it's possible that leaving only .02" with the roughing was cutting it too close (haha, pun intended) and the material was pulling up. I would try to do a semi-finish toolpath with something that was a bit more organic in nature, able to follow the curves, leaving a bit more material for the finishing toolpath.

Yeah, it sucks with a 9 hr cycle time.....