Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

my 3d pocket isn't milling flat corners

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
katrina_cham
182 Views, 6 Replies

my 3d pocket isn't milling flat corners

Hi,

I'm new to f360. Im trying to cut a 3D pocket with an inset lip. Upon running the program, however, the machine contoured extra transitions between the top lip and bottom pocket as well as the base.

How can i change the setup to get corners without contouring in a single toolpath? 

best,

K

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
jaredSADUH
in reply to: katrina_cham

I'm assuming you are programming this from a solid model given that you are using a 3D pocket tool path.  My thought is that there is a chamfer/radius at the top/bottom of the pocket on the model which the tool path is seeing and therefore trying to cut those features in the pocket based on your stepdown/stepover parameters.

You might have better luck with a 2D pocket tool path for that feature and if a radius is required at the bottom, select a tool with the proper corner radius and the pocket should generate fine.  Then use a chamfer tool to put the angle at the top.  Hope that helps!

Message 3 of 7
DarthBane55

It would really help if you could include at least a picture of the toolpath, along with arrows pointing to what you want to do, and the portions you don't want in the toolpath.

For picking corners, you need to turn on "rest machining" under the geometry tab and set to use the previous operations.  But, this often does some cutting where you don't want to.  2d adaptive is better at this, also with "rest machining", where you specify the diameter of the roughing tool.

However, I don't really know for sure if this is what you wanted or not, you are a bit too vague.