Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mach 3 Y-axis zero shifting during job

15 REPLIES 15
SOLVED
Message 1 of 16
Anonymous
6279 Views, 15 Replies

Mach 3 Y-axis zero shifting during job

Hey,

I'm pretty new to both Fusion 360 and CNC routing and milling. I have a pair of setups in CAM for a set of boxes I'm making (One for the sides, one for the floors). In both cases the Y-axis zero shifted mid-job, resulting in operations being performed out of position. I've attached a photo of the workpiece for the floors which shows this nicely. The operation at position 1 should have been performed at position 2. The G-code for that is line 2495 in the attached floors.tap

shifted Y-axis.jpg

I'm using Fusion 360 on a Mac running macOS 10.12.2, and Mach 3 R2.61 on a Windows XP box, running a BZT PFE 1000-PX router.

What's especially weird is that the diagnostic display in Mach 3 shows everything in its correct place. (I've attached a screenshot of that)

Mach3 screenshot.PNG

There had been problems with the G-code generated by Fusion before for our Mach 3, and those had been solved by disabling useG28 and useM6 in the Mach3 post processor setup (mach3mill.cps), so the code I generated had those disabled.

After the problems with the first job (the walls), I talked to a few people in the shop and they were worried about G17, so I removed that by hand from the floors.tap file.

At this point my working assumption is that there's something that Fusion 360 is outputting that isn't supported by our version of Mach 3, but the more I look at the G-code (which I really don't understand that well yet) the less certain I am.

Has anyone in the community seen something similar? Should I be chasing this down with the Mach 3 folks instead?