Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Intermediate positions in linear movement during adaptive toolpath

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
stefanoprato8
376 Views, 6 Replies

Intermediate positions in linear movement during adaptive toolpath

Greetings,

I'm a beginner and I'm working on a DIY machine running on mach3. 

I was testing an end mill with an adaptive toolpath and I noticed that in some points there was a sort of micro-stalling (like a lost step in the stepper motor) in the linear motion and I thought it was a stiffness problem. After running the contour toolpath for finishing, which ended up having a width of cut comparable to the roughing pass due to my concern about stiffness, I noticed that this stalling was absent. I looked at the toolpath and noticed that in the adaptive strategy in single axis movement there were intermediate positioning command. Basically suppose I'm in A in order to go to D the adaptive toolpath commands to go to B and then to C and finally to D; contour instead simply commands to go to D (which  is equivalent in the example). 

I'm confident that the micro-stalling in the machine is not related to stiffness but that, possibly for some problematic settings on the mach3 side, the machine stalls when it reaches this intermediate position and then it starts again after few milliseconds. 

In the video you can see the stalling event with no load. The code is from another run but for example lines 81, 82 and 83 seem useless to me.

I will investigate on the mach3 side but for what concerns fusion is there a way to set the adaptive toolpath so that it avoids placing this intermediate positions?

Thanks. Sorry for any English problem.
Stefano Prato.

Labels (3)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
seth.madore