Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I select 3 sides of a cube to machine?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
men8ifr
105 Views, 4 Replies

How do I select 3 sides of a cube to machine?

If I have a cube and I want to machine only 3 of the sides how do I do that? 

I'm a beginner at CAM but thought e.g in 2D adaptive contour under the geometry tab  I would expect to be able to select face and pick the faces I want machined though it won't let me select any side faces. 

I could select the top and bottom and I can also get it to machine all the faces, just not ones I want to select. 

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
DarthBane55
in reply to: men8ifr

with 2d paths, you need to select edges.  Make sure you only select the edge of the sides you want to machine (use ALT to select 1 edge), and it should work for you.

Message 3 of 5
men8ifr

Thanks and is this possible with 3D adaptive as well? 

Message 4 of 5
DarthBane55

Certainly, but it is more complicated.  I attached a sample file with 3 toolpaths.

1st path is 2d adaptive, machining 2 edges.  Selection is easy, you pick the 2 edges and that's it.

2nd path is 3d adaptive, with the rest machining set to "from previous operations".  It results in mainly machining just the 2 edges left, but the last pass gets the other 2 edges as well.  If I had set a bigger allowance, it would not have machined them, but usually you'd want consistent finish allowance, so this is so-so.