Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G Code showing too many coordinates

21 REPLIES 21
SOLVED
Message 1 of 22
charizards
627 Views, 21 Replies

G Code showing too many coordinates

Hi,

I'm new to fusion 360 and have a 7 sided shape that I would like to machine out using 2D contour mode. I'm expecting just 8 different coordinates for the G Code but I'm left with a 242 line long code. What setting am I missing here?

I've been using CATIA and the same settings and it's giving me the set of coordinates that I want. 

Preview of code:

adindaasmoroFB53C_0-1689690870864.png

Many thanks 

21 REPLIES 21
Message 2 of 22
seth.madore
in reply to: charizards

Hmm. Is the contour comprised of splines?

Any chance you could share your file?
To share your file:
File > Export > Save to local folder, return to thread and attach the .f3d file in your reply

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 22
DarthBane55

your arc is in 3d, meaning it is not planar flat.  So it interprets your arc as a 3d contour, then it becomes point to point.

To remedy that, if you have 1 side of this arc that is planar, pick that one.  If not, you need to make a sketch and make a 2d arc on a plane.  You can slice the model somewhere in the middle where it is solid, it will then become flat.

Coming from Catia to Fusion...  ****, life is tough man!!  good luck!

EDIT: sorry Seth, I was typing when you answered so I didn't see your answer until after I sent mine.

EDIT 2:  too funny, the word "d_a_m_n" is banned it seems!  lol

Message 4 of 22
charizards
in reply to: seth.madore

It's all angular so I don't think there should be any splines

Edit: Deleted model file

Message 5 of 22
charizards
in reply to: DarthBane55

Hi Darth Bane