Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fusion 360 or Machine Problem

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
richardsalzman
624 Views, 10 Replies

Fusion 360 or Machine Problem

I am new to machining and Fusion.  I have machined a total of 9 parts since converting a mill to CNC.  I am sometime challenged to figure out if a problem is a result of an issue with my machine or a programming mistake.

Upon completing the CNC conversion, I learned that the ball nuts were faulty. I had the X and Y professionally repaired. They now work great and have less than 1/2 thou backlash. The Z ball nut has about .004 of backlash that is currently being compensated for with backlash compensation. At some point this ball nut will have to be repaired, but this is a major endeavor. I decided to see what limitations this backlash imposes before taking apart the entire mill.

My latest challenge, there are gouge marks around the perimeter of the part created during the parallel tool path.  Please see below.   Do you think the issue is a result of an incorrect lead in radius?  Does this appear to be a programming error?  If not, I will look further at the mill for possible issues.

Fusion File:  https://www.dropbox.com/s/2wseldy90131mbg/Titan%209M%20v60.f3d?dl=0

Thanks... Richard

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

Sorry... Here is the image I meant to upload.

Message 3 of 11

Hi

It almost definitely is your machine, but in saying that, there are some things we can do in Fusion that should help you out.

I've done a bit of a deep dive Video here on your part with a few tricks for getting better results:

Message 4 of 11