Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Conversion and pocketing letters

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
620 Views, 8 Replies

Conversion and pocketing letters

Hi I am new to this and having some issues. First off I can extrude text and make it a negative into the stock but I can't get my setup to cut out the lettering, it just wants to adaptive contour it. Whenever I set to pocket or engrave it tells me theres no toolpath. I even tried not extruding the text into the block and it still doesn't seem to recognize the text when I try to cut it out, it only sees it as something it can contour up to. My X,Y, Z axis are all orientated properly as far as I can tell.

Also made a program just a box and some cutouts and it comes in at half scale everytime. I am running UCCNC and finding Fusion doesn't seem to want to cooperate just like any of the free software out there. 

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
johnswetz1982
in reply to: Anonymous

File>Export>*.f3d and attach your file here so someone can take a look at what you have setup.

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous

Thanks please advise

Message 4 of 9
johnswetz1982

Your features are too small for your tool. You have a feature that is 2mm wide but there is .5mm stock leave (each side) so 1mm wide and you also have to take into account the lead-in lead out dimensions as well as the minimum cutting diameter.

Also unless you have some amazing machine adaptive is not going to work as good for such tiny features and movements. You generally want a fairly large cutting radius because your machine needs time to accelerate and decelerate.