Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CNC router has painfully slow travel from home to initial cut?

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
tlumWWPF3
313 Views, 13 Replies

CNC router has painfully slow travel from home to initial cut?

I am a complete beginner when it comes to Fusion 360 and running a CNC router with it. I have a Denford Router 2600 Pro and I am making essentially two circular interior 2D contours in a square piece of foam. The actual cutting is going well but my issue is how slow the router moves from home to the start of the first cut. I did some exploring and trial and error and found the G1 command that is slowing it down and I can change it manually to speed up the travel but I was wondering what setting (if any?) can I change in my set-up to speed that movement up?

I will attach a text file of the whole program but this is the start of the program and the line in question is the 16th line:

(1001)
(T03 D=6.35 CR=0 - ZMIN=-3 - FLAT END MILL)
N1 G21
N2 G90 G94
N3 G17
[Billet X222.25 Y222.25 Z12.75
N4 [EDGEMOVE X-111.125 Y-111.125
N5 G28 G91 Z0
N6 G90
(2D CONTOUR2)
N7 [TOOLDEF  T0303 D6.35
N8 M5
N9 G90 M6 T0303
N10 M3 S18000
N11 G17 G94
N12 G1 X71.47 Y-3.635 F450

This last line is where it travels from home to line itself up to the first cut. I can change that F to speed it up and if fact deleted just the F450 part and the travel was fine. Is there a part of Fusion I can edit so it knows to let the machine travel at it's normal pace? Any help is appreciated.

I am using the Educational license if that matters. I am using the Denford post processor found in the Autodesk library.

Thanks in advance,

Tom

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14