Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Center drill not going to correct height, and Rapiding when it should feed?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
scottshonda
192 Views, 4 Replies

Center drill not going to correct height, and Rapiding when it should feed?

Hello I am running into an issue with the spot drill on this part. Im pretty new to fusion. I may have some settings wrong in the heights tab? but my question then would be, why does it look right in simulation and be completely different out at the machine? When I try to run just the first 2 tools out at the machine. The face mill seems to be fine. But when the center drill comes down. its about .300 above the part. and when it gets to the feed height of .200, It rapids into the part? Ill attach the file below. 

Thanks, Scott

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
scottshonda
in reply to: scottshonda

Just to clarify. Im having 2 different issues. One when I run the program on the machine the center drill height is about .300 to high? but in the simulation it looks very good?

2nd issue is the feed rate portion. after the tool gets to the .200 height to start feeding it rapids into the part. Thankfully I didnt hit the part to hard because the tool height in the first place was too high.

Message 3 of 5
cshutsy

The problem with the center drill is in the heights tab.  

• Clearance height is the Z to rapid to at the beginning and end of drilling all the holes.
  • Retract height is the Z to rapid to between each hole
  • Feed height is the Z to rapid to before changing to a feed move
  • Top height is the Z where the hole starts
  • Bottom height is the Z where drilling stops (hole bottom isn't really useful for selected point geometry)