Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2D Pocket: side of contour can not be selected

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
markus_sc
262 Views, 6 Replies

2D Pocket: side of contour can not be selected

Hello,

I am very new in Fusion360 and CNC, but I have one question which follows me since days and makes me headache.

I want to do a 2d pocket which is 0,3mm deep with an engraver. This is also already in the model if i change to processing-tab of Fusion360.

Here I can create a new setup and try to do the pocket as follows:

- select 2d / 2d pocket

- selected as pocket I clicked on the ground of the pocket. (I also tried different ways to get the pocket like selecting the contour on the surface or the contour at the bottom of the pocket.)

Against my expectations I do not get the arrow to switch between inner and outer pocket. Every time I try this, the pocket is left over and the rest around it gets milled. I know, that the edges with very tiny spaces will not be that correct, but that is not the point. I only want to learn how to do it on a little piece of wood.

On the other hand: If I use the 2D contour functionality , the arrow for changing the processed side of the contour does appear and I can select if I want the contour or the surrounding material.

I would really appreciate if somebody could give me a hint what I am doing wrong.

Thanks in advance,

Markus

Labels (2)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
jhackney1972
in reply to: markus_sc

I think you want to use the Engrave function and use the extrusion sketch only.  Set the bottom height depth to 0.3mm and you will get what you want.  Model is attached.

"If you find my answer solved your question, please select the Accept Solution icon"

John Hackney
Retired