Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create trigger assembly?

3 REPLIES 3
SOLVED
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
1210 Views, 3 Replies

How to create trigger assembly?

Hello, I recently began to play with joints and I was wondering if it is possible to create something similar to a trigger assembly where one component's movement is restricted by another one getting in the way (just like disconector holds cocked hammer in place). Is there even a way making components act like under pressure? Just like hammer is under pressure from a spring and is realeased after pulling the trigger. I'm just beginning my adventure with fusion 360 and haven't really dived into it just yet. Please also note that I'm NOT using this software for any production purposes nor have I any extensive knowledge of industrial design and production techniques (amateur 3d artist).

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
jeff_strater
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous,

Good questions.  For "Is there even a way making components act like under pressure?".  The answer here is yes.  Use the "Rest" position of the Joint Limits.  This acts as a kind of a spring on the joint, which wants to return to this position.

joint rest position.png

joint rest position 2.png

Here is a screencast showing the behavior for a slider joint with a rest position in effect:

That's the easy question.  Your first question:  "if it is possible to create something similar to a trigger assembly where one component's movement is restricted by another one getting in the way" is a bit harder.

For simple assemblies, Contact Sets can work.  There are performance problems, though, for larger assemblies.  Here is a quick screencast showing contact sets: