Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using findBRepByUsingPoint

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
pludikar
175 Views, 1 Reply

Using findBRepByUsingPoint

Hi,

I'm trying to use the findBRepByUsingPoint method found in component:

if I have a face entity:

face.assemblyContext.component.findBRepByUsingPoint(face.pointOnFace, adsk.fusion.BRepEntityTypes.BRepFaceEntityType)  >>  returns an objectCollection

but 

face.assemblyContext.component.findBRepByUsingPoint(face.pointOnFace, adsk.fusion.BRepEntityTypes.BRepFaceEntityType).count returns 0 - meaning it hasn't found anything.

I would have expected it to return count of 1.

Am I missing something?

Peter

I'm not an expert, but I know enough to be very, very dangerous.

Life long R&D Engineer (retired after 30+ years in Military Communications, Aerospace Robotics and Transport Automation).
1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
pludikar
in reply to: pludikar

I think pressing the send button, is cathartic, makes me relax and when I'm relaxed I come up with solutions.

The issue is, and this seems to be the way F360 works, is when working and modifying Occurrences, you MUST be working with the NativeObject.  I had assumed that you had to be working with the Occurrence and, because everything is in same world coordinate space, and the occurrences would take care of the rest - Not so!!

face.assemblyContext.component.findBRepByUsingPoint(face.pointOnFace, adsk.fusion.BRepEntityTypes.BRepFaceEntityType)  >>  returns an objectCollection
face.assemblyContext.component.findBRepByUsingPoint(face.pointOnFace, adsk.fusion.BRepEntityTypes.BRepFaceEntityType).count returns 0

The component referred to by: 

face.assemblyContext.component

is actually in the nativeObject space.  So 

face.pointOnFace