Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Strange behavior setting a solid body's attributes

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
perryK67ZX
156 Views, 4 Replies

Strange behavior setting a solid body's attributes

I'm new to the Fusion 360 API, and to Fusion 360 in general.

I'm writing an add-in that needs to persist some custom data associated with a selected body. From the docs, it seemed like my best bet was to set an attribute on the selected body. (Correct me if I'm off-base here!)

For testing purposes, I set the attribute as soon as the body is selected, unless it already exists. When I add this code, clicking a body with the command dialog open intermittently fails (the body clicked in the UI does not turn blue). When the selection fails to show in the UI, the code still runs to completion, but the previously-set attribute is not found.

Here is some code to reproduce the issue. This was modified from the template generated from "Scripts and Add-Ins" -> "Create".

# Function that is called when a user clicks the corresponding button in the UI.
# This defines the contents of the command dialog and connects to the command related events.
def command_created(args: adsk.core.CommandCreatedEventArgs):
    # General logging for debug.
    futil.log(f"{CMD_NAME} Command Created Event")

# https://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/?contextId=CommandInputs
    inputs = args.command.commandInputs

# TODO Define the dialog for your command by adding different inputs to the command.

selector = inputs.addSelectionInput(
        "body_input", "Select Body", "Select a body to analyze"
    )
    selector.addSelectionFilter(
        "SolidBodies",
    )
    selector.setSelectionLimits(1, 1)  # Exactly one body should be selected.

def on_change(args):