Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

simple selection script

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
mjobson32CFL
1411 Views, 2 Replies

simple selection script

Hi,

I'm really struggling here. All I want to do is to select 1 solidbody only and then display some of the brep/component/whatever properties of that selected solid body.

All the examples are really complicated and involve loops and other forms of selection and as I am new to Python, the Fusion API and coding in general, I am really struggling with the concept that almost everything is an object in python.

I've spent hours going thru code trying to understand it and see how one thing links to another.

Even getting a basic input interface is very confusing. 

I can create a messagebox and I can modify the command input sample code and modify the inputs in there (but only with the tabbed interface)

There are no very simple sample scripts that show how to do something really simple, without all the extra validation and a billion other options that you might want in the future.

I don't want to check what language, I don't want to use loops, I don't want multiple selection types, I don't want tabs, I don't want tables, I don't want to check if the user entered the correct value.

I don't want any of that right now. Because it confuses the learning process. I can't clearly see how one thing leads to another.

I would want to have all that stuff at a later stage as I build my script, but I'm finding to just get my head around everything and even be slightly confident with what I am writing that all that stuff is just getting in the way and it's really taking all the fun out of it.

A lot of these provided samples aren't made for absolute beginners, they are for seasoned programmers.