Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you give a name a newly created object in API?

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
rbbauer00
619 Views, 2 Replies

How do you give a name a newly created object in API?

I am a hobby woodworker and build mostly furniture. I have become fairly efficient with Fusion 360 for my furniture design, but I want to be able to automate some of the things I do, such as joinery.  I work in the medical field and have no formal training in programming or CAD, but I have done some simple command line programming using BASIC and .BAT files.  I studied some basic Python tutorials to get a rudimentary grasp on the language, then went through Brian Ekins' videos about how the object tree works and how the API handles code.  I then perused the User Manual and Reference manual for the API.  While I understand the concepts in the manuals, I struggle with making them work. 

I start with all this to simply say I am a total noob and need major hand-holding, but I have tried to do my homework. I found my question asked before, but the answer was simply "Modify the Name property of the Sketch object."  I have no idea how do do that.  When I look up "name" under "sketches" in the manual, it says the follwoing, but I don't know how to insert this into my code to get it to work.

# Get the value of the property.
propertyValue = sketch_var.name

# Set the value of the property.
sketch_var.name = propertyValue