Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with add-in for cutting finger joints

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
florian.pommereningDGUYA
700 Views, 7 Replies

Help with add-in for cutting finger joints

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Fusion (started 2 days ago) and enjoy the idea of designing in a parametrized way. As I come from a programming background, I thought, I'd try writing an add-in as a way of getting to know Fusion. I'm starting to get a grip on the API and managed to create a new command to perform some of the steps below but I still have conceptual problems in making the add-in work in a parametrized setting.

I would like to share my plan for this and the problems I ran into so far. I hope some of you can help me with this or have useful constructive feedback. My goal is to implement a tool that takes two overlapping bodies and an axis and cuts finger joints perpendicular to the axis into the bodies to resolve the overlap. I have seen a very useful video about finger joints but I would like to make this a bit more general where it can work on any two overlapping bodies. This is how I imagine this operating:

Step 1: The user selects two overlapping parts and an axis. (I forgot the axis in the screenshot, it should be z axis.) She also enters values for finger width and distance (or alternatively the number of fingers).

1.png

Step 2: We create new bodies from the intersection of the bodies.

2.png

Step 3: We create a plane along the axis and through some arbitrary point. The choice does not matter as long as it is not on the line itself (because then the plane is underdefined), so we could use the first base vector that is not along the line.

3.png