Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fusion 360 API units

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
yebyps
1115 Views, 7 Replies

Fusion 360 API units

I'm a complete newbie to API.  I found a script, and got it to run with a bit of badgering, and also discovered how to stepover in the debugging mode.  What the script does is the wrong scale for me and I want to change probable cm to mm as in my normal unit mode.  What I have at the beginning of the (python) code is 

import adsk.core, adsk.fusion, traceback, math

def run(context😞
    ui = None
    try:
        app = adsk.core.Application.get()
        ui  = app.userInterface
        mm = design.unitsManager.defaultLengthUnits

des = adsk.fusion.Design.cast(app.activeProduct)
        root = des.rootComponent

the addition of mm = design.unitsManager.defaultLengthUnits  to an otherwise functioning code results in total silence when I try to run the code.  When I step in debug mode, it drops out at that line.  Obviously I'm missing some previous declaration, but I'm too new to the grammar to figure that out.  Any ideas please. 

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JesusFreke
in reply to: yebyps

A few things:

First, on the problematic line:

mm = design.unitsManager.defaultLengthUnits

you are trying to access the "unitsManager" member of the object contained in the design variable - but the design variable has not been defined yet -- but you retrieve the design just a couple of lines down:

des = adsk.fusion.Design.cast(app.activeProduct)

Although you assign it to the "des" variable, not the design variable.

Also, I'm not sure what your intention is with the line