Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forge platform and Fusion API custom "Software"

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
bravo1delta9
410 Views, 1 Reply

Forge platform and Fusion API custom "Software"

Hello All!

I am trying to get a very broad feel for what is within the capabilities of the Forge platform and Fusion360 interaction. I am a small business owner with a large catalog of parts, and need an automation tool that interacts with the Fusion API. I plan on laying the ground work for this myself.   Feedback on whether or not the following goals are do-able, and if my current approach to these functions is anywhere near sensible is very much needed.

1 - I would like to input certain data parameters into a spreadsheet, and be able to send those parameters to Fusion API, from outside Fusion360. 

2 - I would like to pull data parameters from a spreadsheet, and command Fusion360 to populate a modeling space with assemblies from my 3D catalog (all f3D files) located in a local database. 

3 - I would like to build a Fusion360 plug-in or script that allows me to "auto align" specific components, in a very particular order and arrangement: For example, In the modeling space there are 10 locomotives, one for coal, one for steel, the caboose and so on. I can open this app or plug in, run it, and fusion identifies the connection points of each car, creating a specific type of joint at a specific point on each car. I can use drop down menus to re-arrange my train assembly, or perhaps, change the materials they are supposed to carry (properties).

How realistic are these features, if I utilize good Python code, the Forge platform, and a solid cloud data base??  What else would I require?

Thanks for your help!

1 REPLY 1
Message 2 of 2
BrianEkins
in reply to: bravo1delta9