Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Convert .sldprt files to .stl using Fusion360 Python API

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
m.umardastgir
3459 Views, 7 Replies

Convert .sldprt files to .stl using Fusion360 Python API

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner working on an assignment in which I have to convert an input .sldprt file to an output .stl file format. I believe Fusion 360 has a Python API that can import and export files. However, in the examples, I do not see any reference to importing a .sldprt file or exporting a .stl file. Can anyone point me how to import .sldprt and export .stl file?

Tags (3)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
JesusFreke
in reply to: m.umardastgir

See http://help.autodesk.com/view/fusion360/ENU/?guid=GUID-ECA8A484-7EDD-427D-B1E3-BD59A646F4FA for exporting an STL. I'm not familiar with sdlprt files, and don't see anything offhand in the api for importing them.

Message 3 of 8
BrianEkins
in reply to: JesusFreke

Support for Solid Works translation directly within Fusion was just recently added and unfortunately, the API has not been updated to support it.  I don't know of any workaround.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Brian Ekins
Inventor and Fusion 360 API Expert
Website/Blog: https://EkinsSolutions.com
Message 4 of 8
JesusFreke

I think the autodesk cloud storage thing may support .sldprt files. If so, you may be able to use something like Data.activeProject.rootFolder.uploadAssembly() (or uploadFile?) to upload the .sldprt, and then Application.get().documents.open() to open the uploaded file.

I have no idea if that will actually work or not, but that would be what I try at least.

Message 5 of 8
BrianEkins