Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Spindle not up to speed before cutting starts

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
chrisQWNYT
2325 Views, 18 Replies

Spindle not up to speed before cutting starts

i have a centroid AiO controller on my mill.  it seems that when i request higher rpm's for aluminum the spindle is not up to speed just yet.  i would like to modify the Centroid Mill cps to Always wait say 1 sec per 1,000 rpm's.  i have tried myself with no luck as i am not a computer programmer.  any help would be greatly appreciated.  im am using an unmodified post.  i do not have a spindle encoder. 

i am surprised F360 does not offer this as a parameter next to spindle speed in CAM.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
seth.madore
in reply to: chrisQWNYT

The easiest thing to do would be to put a hardcoded dwell before the first cutting move. What is the dwell command for your controller?

Don't be surprised that Fusion doesn't automatically support this. Fusion was built with mainstream commercial CNC's in mind, which don't typically suffer from this, or have encoders that monitor speed and prevent motion until proper RPM is attained.

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 19
chrisQWNYT
in reply to: seth.madore

i understand they have bigger customers with deep pockets, but they, probably better than anyone else, market to the diy and small business like myself.  i hope to get to the point that i can get a new machine soon.

anyway, centroid uses G4 for dwell with P before the set time or equation to figure the time.  i just timed it and it takes my spindle almost 20 seconds to get to the max 6,000 rpms. i would like it to dwell 4 seconds per 1000 rpms to play it safe.