Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Fusion 360 isn't giving my CNC a correct Z axis?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
jagowindelworkshop
557 Views, 4 Replies

Fusion 360 isn't giving my CNC a correct Z axis?

Hey O Everyone,

I'd like to start out saying I'm very new to Fusion 360 and CNC's in general but last week I had a fairly easy success with a setup and job for a preset bullnose and carved out the exact shape I wanted although a little off because I hadn't leveled my spoil board, just wanted to test that it was all working sort of thing. However I've come back to it this week with the intension of leveling the spoil board so, I created my own tool in fusion based off a face mill I ordered on Amazon, proceeded to model my spoil board on fusion then ran the program on my 3 axis CNC (Bufflow 1500x1500 (based on Ooznest Workbee Design) using Workbee post processor. Instead of taking a 1mm off the top of the board it tried to gauge 9mm out of the top. I've recreated the model 9 times now in fusion using different tool paths, offset selections and even changed parameters on the tool. The out come though is always the same the x and y axis is fine but the z just keeps trying to cut 9mm deep. I've zeroed my work point at the beginning and I don't understand what's going wrong. I can't see how creating a tool would cause me such a head ache from last weeks success and would be much obliged if you could give me any advice on the matter.  

Tags (2)
Labels (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

@jagowindelworkshop 

Not a Fusion issue as far as I can tell.

Nothing wrong with the NC file that I can see, the lowest Z height in the code is Z-0.9mm which is correct as you have set the "Stock to Leave" a 0.1mm Axial to leave.