Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

$480 a year to get rapids back for hobbyist?

22 REPLIES 22
SOLVED
Message 1 of 23
russmaguss
2735 Views, 22 Replies

$480 a year to get rapids back for hobbyist?

I'm a hobbyist with a shapeoko 3. I rarely use my CNC these days and the last time I fired up 360 it was brought to my attention that rapids are gone unless you pay $40 a month. I generate maybe $200/year income (not profit mind you) with my CNC because all other projects are personal projects or gifts for friends/family. Is there any way to get rapids back? My machine will probably never pay itself off as a hobby. I feel like I wasted so much time learning the ins and outs of this software over the years only to get suckerpunched for $500/year that I can absolutely not justify. Should I just start a bunch of free trials every month or something? LOL

22 REPLIES 22
Message 2 of 23
seth.madore
in reply to: russmaguss

The changes to Personal Entitlement are outlined HERE

I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way. When we set about to take steps to curb abuse while also permitting true hobby users to still use the product, we tried to carve as close as we could to what would actually impact the abusers while still giving hobbyists freedom to explore their creativity. Obviously, there is going to be pain among the hobby users, but there weren't a lot of decent options on the table.

Remove Manufacture environment entirely? Make all data public domain? Gut all the toolpaths down to the most basic (2d contour and pocket)?

Seth Madore
Customer Advocacy Manager - Manufacturing
Message 3 of 23
DarthBane55
in reply to: seth.madore