This option would allow Fusion to still write all the 5 mins saves and timeline data, but stored in a Temp-Referenced file and not uploading everything to the cloud on the fly, which can be horribly slow under certain situations. Then when the massive complex edits are all complete, select "re-upload and merge" and it will update the "cloud version" and save a new version in the project "saves" collection, etc.
I'm sure this has been requested, but I imagine this would save a lot of time.
Thanks,
Alldaron