Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to copy and paste a sketch

93 REPLIES 93
SOLVED
Message 1 of 94
DhimDoes
189316 Views, 93 Replies

How to copy and paste a sketch

Hey there, I am very new to Fusion 360 and still trying to find my way around. This one has really got me scratching my head. How do you copy a basic 2D sketch? I am selecting the shape, let's say a center point circle, using CTRL + C and then CTRL + V. Nothing happens. If I right click on the circle it gives me the option to redo paste, but it does not create a 2nd shape. 

How can I achieve this? In the more basic offering of 123D, when I hit copy and paste, even with a 2D sketch, it pops up the new shape and provides the move tool. 

93 REPLIES 93
Message 2 of 94
Phil.E
in reply to: DhimDoes

In a history free model, this is possible. You can copy and paste an entire sketch.

In a parametric model, the sketch must reside inside a component. Copy the component to copy the sketch.

In either case, if you are editing a sketch, you can copy and paste lines, arcs, circles inside that sketch.

Thanks!

Phil Eichmiller
Software Engineer
Quality Assurance
Autodesk, Inc.

Message 3 of 94
DhimDoes
in reply to: Phil.E

Thank you. The key part of your response was that I needed to be in the edit sketch mode in order to copy and paste. Sorry for the delay, but I wanted to provide closure.

Message 4 of 94
wijnen.e
in reply to: DhimDoes

I have this problem at the moment: I want to copy a few lines from sketch 1 to a new sketch (2) on a different plane .... Is this possible?

Message 5 of 94
HughesTooling
in reply to: wijnen.e