Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going nuts trying to get lofting on spline rails

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
bwaslo
1474 Views, 9 Replies

Going nuts trying to get lofting on spline rails

I'm quite new to F360, but have been digging through videos and tutorials for quite a while now.  This particular problem I've been fighting for two days now.  I want to loft from a circle to a rectangle, and want the loft to be on four spline rails that I created using the ImportSplineCsv sample script (the curves were calculated using Excel and exported to csv).  I got the splines created in F360 along with the two profiles, but no matte what I do, I get the error "The rails do not intersect both profiles".  The end points of the rails/splines are on the profiles edges (numerically), and I have tried Project, Intersect, changing the order of creation of the various things, attempted to edit the points (there doesn't appear to be a way to snap them to midpoints of the profiles that I an find), etc., but no luck at all.

The display does show little violet circles at the points where the rails are intended to contact the profile edges (I assume that means the points are coincident?  Is there some documentation somewhere that describes what the purple rings, white centered circles, grey centered circles, etc. all mean at point locations?).

Is this something that is even possible in Fusion 360 -- to do a a rail-guided loft following externally fed spline points?

Thanks for any tips anyone may have.

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
etfrench
in reply to: bwaslo