Community
Fusion Manufacture
Talk shop with the Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) Manufacture Community. Share tool strategies, tips, get advice and solve problems together with the best minds in the industry.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mill the side of a box

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
coctavian1979
805 Views, 8 Replies

Mill the side of a box

Hello.

I'm new to this field when it comes to CAM and Fusion 360 so I have a nub question.

I have a box that sit perfectly on my CNC machine table and on that box I need to mill some holes on one side. I know that the best was to place that box facing up with the side I want to work on  but then it will not fit my CNC machine. I can rotate my spindle 90 degrees so the milling tip points to back of the machine (y+). (Basically I want to plunge the tool on Y axis and move it on Z and X axis instead of the normal way - plunge on Z and move on Y and X).

I've created the model in Fusion 360 but I do not know if I can do this as I do not find the tool orientation that will allow me to basically "swap" Z and Y axis in generated gcode. Is this possible from code and not from changing the wire on the CNC machine to swap Y and Z axis ?

Best regards and thank you for any information.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

No, there isn't a post or software solution for what you are looking to do. This has been requested from time to time, but never really seemed to go anywhere.

Your best bet would be to swap the wires to your motors.

Seth Madore
Owner, Liberty Machine, Inc.
Good. Fast. Cheap. Pick two.
Message 3 of 9

Thank you for your reply.

I was hoping on not to do that but if there is no software solution I will have to go and to that :(.

Message 4 of 9
djowen40
in reply to: coctavian1979

I see others have suggested no.