Community
Forma Forum
Welcome to the Forma Community. Give feedback, report bugs, and tell us your ideas about Autodesk Forma
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Research on AI generated urban design

1 REPLY 1
SOLVED
Message 1 of 2
nora.nanov1
152 Views, 1 Reply

Research on AI generated urban design

Hi, 

My name is Nora and I am an Msc student in Urban Design and City Planning at the Bartlett School of Planning (UCL). 

As part of my masters, I am working towards a Major Research Project and my topic is ‘Assessing the Effectiveness of AI-generated Urban Design: A Comparative Study between Human-Centric and AI-generated responses.’

In short, I am planning to take a recently-realised project in east London, conduct some design exercises on it and basically make it “the best version of itself”. Simultaneously, I will be using an AI generative software that will create a design response based on the exact same brief and principles I have used for the design exercise, allowing me to compare the two final results (of course after multiple rounds of amendments and specifications). 

During my research, I came across Spacemaker AI as a potential software to use, and I read several articles and papers about it and watched all the tutorials of it. As the research proceeded, Spacemaker (now autodesk Forma) became quite a significant component of my research mainly due to the ‘explore’ function which provided AI generated design responses. Recently, while downloading the student version through the autodesk website, I learned that the AI generated features were cut out during the re-branding of the program, and they can no longer be used.

I understand that Forma is constantly being developed and improved, and that the explore feature was only available in classic projects and not the Forma ones.