Community
FBX Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s FBX Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular FBX topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Out-of-order Alembic normals/UVs in sdk player example...

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
ReneGimpel
596 Views, 2 Replies

Out-of-order Alembic normals/UVs in sdk player example...

Hi-

I'm a developer for Marmoset Toolbag3, and we would like to use FBX as a wrapper for Alembic format, any information or guidance is appreciated 🙂

The Issue:

For some Alembic files, the default loading code (as demonstrated in the SDK player example) does not always return correctly mapped texture coordinates and normals. There may be extra steps involved (or mapping info not immediately available), at this point I just want to verify whether it is supported in the current SDK.

Here is the screenshot of a test model in the fbx example player:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zjsvgafbdntn4ta/DogFBX2018.jpg?dl=0

DogFBX2018.jpg

The normals (and texture coordinates) appear to be indexed for one type of Alembic, and the file itself contains a different variant. We have an Alembic loader that loads the normals as expected (as well as texture coordinates) - so we can verify the contents of the file - we just can't access it correctly using the SDK loading code, as-is.

One of our Alembic test models can be downloaded here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rs0u127u47rh2dp/dogblend.abc?dl=0

NOTE: If this type of Alembic indexing simply isn't currently supported that's fine too; virtually any clarification will be helpful to us..

Thanks
-René Gimpel @Marmoset
2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
regalir
in reply to: ReneGimpel

Hi,