Factory Design Utilities Forum
Welcome to Autodeskā€™s Factory Design Utilities Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Factory Design Utilities topics.
cancel
Showing results forĀ 
ShowĀ Ā onlyĀ  | Search instead forĀ 
Did you mean:Ā 

Factory Assets - folder location

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
BStrothcamp
2763 Views, 9 Replies

Factory Assets - folder location

Our IT department moves things around all the time and paths change.... currently when i place an asset it creates a folder on my local hard drive and saves them all there. In Inventor I see where you can control all other locations for these types of files but none for the assets.

I want them to be saved in the same project folder as my assemblies and parts... imported components already work this way but cannot find that particular reference as an example. I am now totally confused. What an I doing wrong. Keep in mind I am also new to inventor.

I have 2 projects already completed which all assets are linked to this common folder on my local drive. Since I made a lot of mistakes there are hundreds of parts tin there that were created and i only need a handfull of them (the ones which currently exist in the drawing). They are all named funky 89bhtw876hw76hw098h76w0 like that. Is there an easy way to gather these up and keep them in their proper project folder where they belong?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
jeff.pek
in reply to: BStrothcamp

Hi -

We use this hard-coded subfolder, within your project workspace, for these files.

Are you saying that these files are not within your workspace?

Can you post a screenshot or 2 illustrating what you're seeing?

Thanks for clarifying,

Jeff

Message 3 of 10
BStrothcamp
in reply to: jeff.pek

Will try to explain...

IT sets up an environment in our OS.

C:\Proj

That is were things like My Music, My Pictures and things are automatically created.

In Inventor 'Applications Options' the projects folder is set to C:\Proj\Inventor