Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sketches Driving Me Crazy....

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
jagboy2013
2299 Views, 13 Replies

Sketches Driving Me Crazy....

I'm relatively new to Fusion, but have used Solidworks for years, so familiar with the concepts.  I find sketching drives me crazy.  I am constantly creating sketches that appear correct to me, but won't do a cut or extrude.  I must be missing something, as I'm sure all the different colors that show up are telling me something, but I don't know what.  I typically Project features to get some sketch lines, and draw others.  My default assumption is projected lines are treated no different from sketched lines, but experience suggests perhaps this is not necessarily true.

I see lines and points change color from dark red to green to yellow to blue to black.  WTH does it all mean?  I understand blue is an unconstrained line, and black a constrained line, and projected features at least start out dark red, but what does it mean when they turn yellow or green?

If I have what appears to be a closed path in a sketch, but cannot select that area for a Push/Pull, HOW do I find the problem, other than just fumbling around in the dark until I hit on the right change?

Is this all documented somewhere?  This is my single biggest frustration with Fusion right now...

Regards,

Ray L.

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
HughesTooling
in reply to: jagboy2013

This thread has a few tips. Also make sure you have show profiles enabled in the sketch on the sketch palette.

Mark

Mark Hughes
Owner, Hughes Tooling
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.