Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Recommended Project methodology

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
cylindric
435 Views, 8 Replies

Recommended Project methodology

Hi folks. I'm fairly new to F360, and have been using it primarily to create plans destined for a laser cutter. Here is an example, an arcade cabinet for a RaspberryPi.picade.png

One of the things that's come up is that I have put each of the panels into a separate "file" in my project, and then I link to them in a master assembly file. The problem with this is that I can't easily reference between the parts, for example if I make a panel a bit bigger, I also need to edit the sides and manually make it all match up.

Would I be better off having everything as separate components in a single file? Then I would be able to project and reference all sorts of common elements, and use parameters to define things like material thickness (which affects the size of all the slots).

The question that raises is should I then put all the sketches sort of "flattened out" in the document, and use the assembly constraints to move things into place? Or sketch everything "in place" where it should end up?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
robduarte
in reply to: cylindric

Yes, you should definitely just create components within the same design. It only makes sense to create separate designs ("files") in a case where the thing you're designing is a part that stands on its own and could potentially be used in several different designs.

Rob Duarte
Associate Professor in Art, Florida State University
Co-Director FSU Facility for Arts Research
http://art.fsu.edu/rob-duarte/

Twitter | YouTube

Message 3 of 9
cylindric
in reply to: robduarte