Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joint issue, revolve

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
robpage
684 Views, 6 Replies

Joint issue, revolve

I'm a noob, having trouble making the "revolute" function work.  If you have a sec, I put a vid up here which demonstrates the problem far quicker than I could type it out.  Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
neljoshua
in reply to: robpage

@robpage,

Some suggestions:

1) You have not grounded any of your components.  It is a good idea to ground one so that Fusion knows which one to rotate when you drag the joint.

Screen Shot 2017-02-16 at 14.59.16.png

2) Fusion is a bit picky when selecting and dragging joints like this.  If you are having some problems, try orbiting to look more directly at the joint.

3) I am not a fan of the as-built joints.  I have noticed some...interesting behavior with them (for example, the joint marker moving, as you noticed).  I recommend using the standard joint rather than the as-built.  This, however, is a personal preference.

4) Fix the errors in the timeline.  Fusion really does not like to have these and they may be causing some of your issues.

Screen Shot 2017-02-16 at 14.59.47.png

__

If this post answered your question, please select "Mark as Solution" in order to help others who may have the same (or a similar) question.

Lenovo Thinkpad P1, 2.70 GHz Intel Xeon, 32.0 GB, Windows 10 Pro
Message 3 of 7
davebYYPCU
in reply to: neljoshua

Left mouse drag the component you want the joint to visualise, never tried to move a joint handle, thats a new one,

You can also right click the joint, in the browser, and click animate model, for that joint, set limits etc

I have not seen any joints jump from their origin,