Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is Autodesk Fusion 360 useful for Architects?

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
bhavooksingh
59435 Views, 9 Replies

Is Autodesk Fusion 360 useful for Architects?

I am an architecture student, and understand that this is not a core building design software. Is there any use of this software in the field of Architecture that will help me advance my skills ?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10

hi bhavooksingh,

Fusion is really targeted at more traditional product design and mechanical design workflows.  So the tools we provide are really more tailored towards designs that are going to be machined, or 3D printed or some form of mass production/manufacturing.  If you are looking to learn a tool specifically for your professional development in the field of architectural design, Fusion probably isn't the tool to focus on.  There's is certainly good uses of Fusion supplementing design details for an architectural project, but you really should look at Autodesk Revit as it is widely used in the architectural and construction field.

Now I have used Fusion to do some small architectural type of projects, I tend to use the direct modeling mode (not capturing design history) because it gives me a lot more freedom for modeling and placing and editing my components without the structural overhead that parametric modeling has.

this is some remodel work I'm doing on my garage all in Fusion360 direct modeling.

garage.png

hope this helps.

hope this helps,

Jamie Gilchrist
Principal Experience Designer
Tags (1)
Message 3 of 10
cekuhnen
in reply to: bhavooksingh