Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have many empty components ?

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
lordarchiebald
1157 Views, 8 Replies

I have many empty components ?

Hi.

So I have been making an AT-AT walker and concentrating more on the modelling side of teaching my self and have got in to a bit of a pickle concerning bodies and components.

I have been making bodies and then combining them and then creating components from those bodies but noticed I had create new component on.

I now have component sub menus with nothing in but origin sub folders but if I delete them i lose other components ?

Im probably not using the correct terminology as I am still learning so apologies.

I guess my question is is there a good tutorial on how the origins/bodies/assemblies works and is there a way of deleting those components ?

Every time i try it says it is referenced else where and i lose things.

Many thanks

Glenn

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
jeevesme
in reply to: lordarchiebald

There is nothing in Component 17:1. You can delete it if there is nothing in it and you did not use its origin for anything. Can you share the model? If you are losing something, its likely that you have something referencing it. 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________Forever yours,
Love,
Brian

PS. If this answered your question, please mark as answered so others do not read through the posts trying to figure out if it was answered.
Message 3 of 9

To eliminate the empty component you'd use "Remove", not "Delete".

This thread contains an excellent explanation of the difference between remove and delete.