Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a toroidal coil/ helix?

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
JamesNutter
4968 Views, 7 Replies

How to create a toroidal coil/ helix?

I found some information on how to do this in inventor, but I do not presently have access to inventor, so I was wondering if there is a way in Fusion 360 to create what at least one person dubbed a toroidal helix.  Specifically, is there a way that I can take a coil/ helix and bend it 360 deg and attach end to end to create a spiral that wraps around a torus? Or even a way to make a straight pipe into a torus that I could use the same process on a coil? Is there a bend feature in Fusion 360? Sorry I am brand new to this and may be missing something obvious, but it is driving me nuts!

Thank you for any insight!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
donsmac
in reply to: JamesNutter

Here's a way to do it. Here I made six hexagons and connected the corner points (3D sketch on). Then do a loft. I added the pipe to each edge afterwards.

You can add more sections if you want more turns on the coils.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 1.38.00 AM.jpg

Message 3 of 8
jjurban55
in reply to: donsmac

That's insanely cool! 

I went with the quasi-cheating approach, creating a spreadsheet from the helical toroid parametric equations (http://math.stackexchange.com/questions/324527/do-these-equations-create-a-helix-wrapped-into-a-toru... and then just importing that as a 3d spline that can be used as a path.

test

The process to do something like this is described here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/post-your-tips-and-tutorials/creating-equation-spreadsheet-and-importi...