Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to continue to edit a joined form in the sculpt mode?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
anna.magdalena.lukasek
1227 Views, 4 Replies

How to continue to edit a joined form in the sculpt mode?

Hi,

I am a beginner in fusion 360. I used to work in Rhino so far, but I am really fascinated with the tsplines technology and the sculpting tools.

I would like to create a head of a character (teddy bear), but after joining a head (quadball) with a ball (snout) I cannot edit the joined form any longer!? Why is this? (In rhino I was using the boolean union command quite a lot.)

Or do you have maybe any idea how to solve this problem? How to get a rounded snout out of a quadball? 

Any help or advice is appreaciated a lot! Thank you!

1_teddy.jpg2_teddy.jpg3_teddy.jpg

Tags (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

Yes, this requires some explanation.

Each of the purple objects in your timeline is it's own Sculpt, or T-SPline environment.

When you double  click on one of the purple sculpt icons in the timeline you will be notified that you are entering the sculpt workspace ad then you can edit the T-Spline/Form in that sculpt environment.

When you click "Finish form" Fusion 360 automatically converts the from object into a body.

If it's a closed object as in your design it will be converted not a solid body, if it's not closed "watertight" it will be converted into a surface body.

When you use "Modify->Combine" you are actually combining two solid bodies, not to T-Spline forms. You can edit this solid body wth all the solid modeling tools available in Fusion 360, but the individual T-Splines will remain individual T-splines that also have to be edited individually.