Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I create a bevel gear like this in fusion?

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
j.gower
3819 Views, 13 Replies

How do I create a bevel gear like this in fusion?

Hi, I am a complete beginner in CAD and Fusion, As a project I am trying model to an Align trex 450 Pro RC helicopter but I have come to this part and cant figure out how to model it properly. My modelled part has flat faces on the top which don't match the profile of the actual part and if I delete them I get a star shape instead of a disc at the top of the cone and the angle of the profile is then wrong. Is it possible to create a part like this in fusion and if so how?

Bevel.PNGIMG_0078.JPG

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
nvanlaar
in reply to: j.gower

I created a quick screencast of how I would do it.  Let me know if it helps.

I can't get the screencast thingy to work...

Bevel gear Screencast

Tags (1)
Message 3 of 14
TrippyLighting
in reply to: nvanlaar

Generally not a bad approach, however, the teeth are wider at the bottom than at the top.

In order to get het right geometry you'll need to divide the top and bottom circe into equal segments and then extrude a shape from that.

Peter Doering
Message 4 of 14
etfrench

The hard way to do this would be:

1. Create a sketch of the top view of the gear
  2. Draw a circle the diameter of the gear
  3. Draw a line from the center of the circle to the circumference.
  4. Make a Circular Pattern of the line with double the tooth count of the gear
  5. Create a sketch for the side view of the gear tangent to the circumference.
  6. Project three of the end points of lines from the circular pattern to this sketch