Community
Fusion Design, Validate & Document
Stuck on a workflow? Have a tricky question about a Fusion (formerly Fusion 360) feature? Share your project, tips and tricks, ask questions, and get advice from the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extrude a channel in a circle on different planes, with different diameter

21 REPLIES 21
SOLVED
Message 1 of 22
per.svanstrom
3324 Views, 21 Replies

Extrude a channel in a circle on different planes, with different diameter

I'm new to Fusion and I just love it. Trying to build a model for a CNC object and can't for my life find out how to create a specific detail in my Component. 
It should be a 360 cut with a growing diameter ending on a plane below the plane I started. Pretty much like a Coil with 1 turn, but I want different start diameter and end diameter. Trying to design a custom pump top for a water cooled scratch build PC. 
I'll add a link to a stock top, to show the angled cut out, its the inner swirl that ends at the outlet thread.

D5 Pump top image

I hope this is how I share my document. Thx in advance

http://a360.co/2pfOyFt

21 REPLIES 21
Message 2 of 22
mroek
in reply to: per.svanstrom

You can use a coil to get a center rail guide, and then loft between two different size profiles at each end of the coil, like so:

coil_vari_dia.png

I just created a new body here, but you could of course use the loft to cut out of another body, or use the combine tool afterwards.

This was just a generic example for you to look at, and I've attached the archive to this post so you can see it step by step.

Message 3 of 22
ian.q.young

Hello 

I am a student of Fusion as well. 🙂

On YouTube there are a lot of Fusion 360 tutorial video's 

Here is a link to custom threads that may help.  The one that makes the thread in the plastic cap is close to what you describe.

link to tutorial vids

Hope this helps. 

Tags (1)
Message 4 of 22
per.svanstrom
in reply to: mroek